I was pretty excited upon hearing in January that Havana Club would be sending us down to Havana to capture the city as part of their #Havana7 campaign – one where they’d send 7 local photographers to capture the energy, the streets, and the passion of Havana.

I will admit. I have never been to Cuba before May. It’s just – never happened. Not for lack of trying. I’ve photographed destination weddings in the caribbean, and visited a whole lot of it on my travel time….but Cuba…Cuba was always on the top of my list. Now more than ever because of the changing political climate. I don’t hide the fact that I am a huge Cuban cigar fan, and while I knew what to expect in that category, the people are what took centre stage and truly captured my heart.

What a city, the colours captivated me. The energy of the city has still not left me, and won’t for some time. It is a city with a pulse. Authentically raw, stripped down from the artificial facades and layers that we have become so used to in North America. It’s really a photographer’s paradise.

– Robert

web-560